Oberlin College & Conservatory

Oberlin OnCampus

Sign In

Tobacco-Free Policy Draft Available Online

March 18, 2014

The Oberlin Tobacco Subcommittee posted a preliminary draft of the Tobacco-Free Initiative Policy on our regularly updated website on Monday, February 24. This drafted policy, being reviewed and shared, will be vetted within the Tobacco-Free Sub-Committee, as well as the city of Oberlin, community stakeholders, the Oberlin student body, and the Oberlin College administration. The Tobacco-Free Initiative website, including the newly drafted policy, will continue to be revised as decisions are made. Our goal is to find a policy that works well for our campus community in the hopes of presenting it to General Faculty late Fall 2014.

This website can answer many of the questions that have been circulating within our community. If you have any questions please e-mail the committee at tobacco.free@oberlin.edu.

Members of the Tobacco Sub-Committee are:
Ehrai Adams, Assistant Director of Wellness
Peter Arden ’14, Student Senate, resident assistant
Dave Bender, supervisor, Office of Safety and Security
Cody Carroll, Lorain County General Health District
Lori K. Morgan Flood, Associate Dean, Director of Wellness and Health Promotion
Marilyn Hill, Lorain County General Health District
Helena Huizenga '16, Committee Intern
Maia Levoy'14, Committee Intern
Rachel Manning '14, Committee Intern
Machmud Makhmudov ’16, Student Senate liaison

The Tobacco Subcommittee is part of the Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drug (ATOD) Committee at Oberlin College and was convened in 2009. The committee includes staff, students, student senators, and county public health members. The Tobacco Subcommittee was formed to address national trends in higher education related to tobacco as well as the "best practice" urgings of federal, state, and health organizations.